If you’re living with digestive issues like irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), then you know that every day is a balancing act. You have to pay close attention to the foods you eat because even a small amount of something can cause problems.
That’s why people with IBS are often advised to follow a low-FODMAP diet. So, is asiago cheese low-FODMAP? Let’s take a closer look.
Asiago is a semi-hard aged cheese that is made from cow’s milk.
Is Asiago Low-FODMAP? Can You Eat?
FODMAP are all types of sugar molecules that can be difficult to digest for people with IBS and other gut issues. If you find yourself having symptoms like gas, bloating, and stomach pain after eating some asiago cheese, then you might have a sensitivity to FODMAPs.
Yes, asiago cheese is low-FODMAP. It contains lesser than 1 gram of carbohydrate per standard serving slice (1-ounce) as we discussed in the asiago nutrition benefit previously.
The Monash University FODMAP App stated that asiago cheese is low-FODMAP in servings of 40g (3), which is equivalent to about ~1.4 ounces of asiago or 1/3 cup. Generally, you will be fine for having 1-2 slices of asiago cheese per sitting.
Is Asiago lactose-free?
Lactose is the sugar found in milk products. If you’re intolerant to lactose, you may experience stomach problems after eating foods that contain it.
Not quite lactose-free, but asiago cheese is low in lactose.
In fact, a standard serving of asiago (about one ounce) contains less than 1 grams of lactose (as carbohydrates) as stated above. This means that most people with lactose intolerance should be able to eat asiago without any problems.
Yes, asiago cheese is a low-carbohydrate food that is also low-FODMAP and low in lactose. Just be sure to stick to the recommended serving size, so you don’t exceed your daily limit. Enjoy!
Is asiago cheese gluten-free?
Yes, asiago cheese is gluten-free. The starch in wheat flour can cause problems for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, but asiago cheese is made from cow’s milk, salt, enzyme, and starter culture (bacteria). It doesn’t contain any wheat products.
Is Asiago Cheese Vegan or Vegetarian?
No, asiago cheese is not vegan or vegetarian. The Italian Asiago cheese is made from the animal rennet (a coagulant enzyme that is extracted from the stomachs of calves, lambs, and kids). This means that asiago cheese is not a good option for vegetarians. I have an article discussing asiago and vegetarians here.