Feta

The word “Feta” means “slices” in Greek. It’s made out of sheep or goat’s milk, which gives it a signature tangy taste.

Feta vs. Cream Cheese

Choosing the best cheese for your purposes is hard enough when you consider the plethora of options available on the market. Most supermarkets have an entire aisle devoted solely to different varieties of cheese. But that choice is made even harder when you’re comparing two different types of soft cheese. Is feta cheese or cream …

Feta vs. Cream Cheese Read More »

Is Feta High in Histamine?

Histamine Intolerance is a rare medical condition occurs in about 1 percent of the population, and 80% are middle-aged. With that, it’s often mistaken as the common allergy (see 5 reasons of cheese allergy here). Here I have a bad news for all of you cheese lovers, most of the aged hard cheeses such as …

Is Feta High in Histamine? Read More »

Feta​ Cheese and Rennet

Feta is a European PDO product which can only be manufactured in Greece. It’s primarily made from sheep milk or mixes with the goat milk. Traditionally for the cow milk cheeses like mozzarella or parmesan, they are not vegan due to use of animal rennet. Animal rennet is a substance extracted from the male calf’s …

Feta​ Cheese and Rennet Read More »

The Umami Taste in Feta

Feta is a PDO (Protected Designation of Origin) product from Greece. It tastes quite different from many the other cheese. Primarily due to the fact that feta is either made of 100% sheep milk or mixes with (up to 30% of) goat milk. And these animal can only be raised in Greece, which the milk produced …

The Umami Taste in Feta Read More »