Parmesan Cheese: Gluten-Free or Not? Brands?

Are you looking for a gluten-free Parmesan cheese? If so, you’re in luck!

Easy Way To Make an Epic Charcuteri...
Easy Way To Make an Epic Charcuterie and Cheese Board! (2021)

In this blog post, we will discuss some of the best gluten-free Parmesan cheese brands available.

We will also answer the related question, keep reading to learn more.

What Parmesan Cheese Is Gluten-Free?

Parmesan cheese is a type of hard Italian cheese that is made from cow’s milk.

It has a nutty, salty flavor and can be used in both savory and sweet dishes. Parmesan cheese is also known as Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, where the ingredients are just salt, milk, culture, and rennet.

There are no gluten-containing ingredients in Parmigiano Reggiano, so it is safe for those on a gluten-free diet to enjoy.

Especially for authentic Parmigiano Reggiano aka. real parmesan cheese, in order for each cheese wheel to be graded and certified by the consortium, it has to come from a certain area in Italy and follow very specific rules including the production method and ingredient. That’s why parmesan is so expensive.

Some examples are Parmigiano Reggiano by:

Conversely, the regular grated or shredded store-bought parmesan may not be the same.

Some of these processed parmesan cheese may contain gluten ingredients. So, always check the label to be sure that no gluten has been added during processing.

What Brands of Parmesan Cheese Are Gluten-Free?

Most of the parmesan cheese (wedge and grated) is gluten-free. However, different brands and types of Parmesan cheese may process differently and therefore vary in their ingredients.

For example, the parmesan block by Good & Gather, Stella, Frigo, 4C (grated), and Fresh Gourmet contains only the essentials – milk, culture, salt, and enzyme. They are gluten-free and free from any additives.

Whereas, grated/shredded parmesan by Kraft, Milano’s, Schnucks, Kroger, Wegmans, Fareway, Organic Valley, and Aldi (Reggano) contain one or more non-dairy ingredients such as cellulose, potassium sorbate, corn-starch, and natamycin.

In spite of that, all of these brands are considered gluten-free.

Reference:

  1. Celiac – Gluten Sources
  2. USDA – FoodData Central
Close
Dark Cheese © Copyright 2020. All rights reserved.
Close