Which Mozzarella Cheese is Halal?

Last Updated on November 21, 2022 by Aaron

When it comes to finding Halal mozzarella cheese, there are several factors that need to be considered. First, the source of the milk used must be from an animal that is considered permissible according to Islamic law. For mozzarella cheese, cow and buffalo milk are typically used and these are nothing haram (means forbidden).

Second, any enzymes and rennet used in the production of the cheese must be sourced from halal sources. The common microbial enzymes or non-animal rennet, such as chymosin, are considered halal. But some of the animal rennet would not be halal unless it’s certified.

Therefore, many mozzarella cheeses in the USA are not Halal-certified even if they’re labelled using the ‘non-animal rennet’ or sometimes vegetarian rennet. It is recommended to look for Halal certification logos on packaging as an assurance of compliance with Islamic dietary laws.

With so many options available, it’s not easy to find a Halal mozzarella. Below I’ve compiled a list for you. You can double-check their logo next time when you go grocery.

Below are some of the Non-Halal Certified Mozzarella Cheese Brands:

  • Waldbaum
  • Sargento
  • Land’O Lakes
  • Kraft (Some countries yes, look for logos)
  • Great Value
  • Aldi
  • Kirkland
  • Happy Farm
  • Keyfood
  • FineFare
  • Finast
  • Dorman

Below are some of the Halal Certified Mozzarella Cheese Brands:

  • Arla
  • Tillamook (read claim)
  • Galbani
  • Axelrod
  • Friendship
  • Miller’s
  • Polly-O
  • Sorrento
  • Taam Tov

Some brands may not be available in certain countries and information on the internet is limited. For example, Galbani and Kraft are halal certified in some islamic country such as Malaysia, but not in the USA. So it’s best to do your own research and look for Halal products in the area you live.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dark Cheese © Copyright 2023. All rights reserved.